The current bridge that connects the two banks of the village of Arcos de Valdevez is a construction of the nineteenth century, begun in 1876 and completed in 1880, which completely replaced a copy of medieval origin. This primitive construction did not remain architectural elements, so knowledge of its original structure rests on a scarce bibliography and some engravings. The monument was composed of four arches, rounded round, supported by strong pegões, without loops, and with talhamares. There were also two access ramps, which from the banks rose to a flat level. No acronyms are mentioned in any of the stone elements of the building, although their existence was almost certain, as is characteristic in the known examples of medieval bridges. The whole structure is markedly Romanesque. The period of its construction will be located somewhere between the end of the XII century, beginning of the XIII century, since in the Inquiries of 1258 the toponym Arcos is already referenced. The existence of the bridge and its association with the local fair, of significant size and importance in the 15th century, as well as an important road network to and from the outside, were the basis of the historical, economic and social development of the village of Arcos.