The old monastery, probably built by D. Teresa, adopted the Cistercian order in the late thirteenth century, thus integrating the area under Santa Maria de Fiães influence. Evolving with immense difficulties, he was transformed into a parish church in 1441, returning to the order of 1497. In 1560 he was already in an advanced state of abandonment, so he is secularized, and his income is integrated into the college of S. Bernardo de Coimbra. Nowadays there are still some of the architectural structures of the Romanesque church and the subsequent changes made in the Modern Period. In its original form would be a church of three naves and bedside with three quadrangular chapels. The original plan of Cister was not concluded, probably due to economic difficulties of the local community, reason why what we see presently is mainly result of the works realized in Century XVIII. The collateral nave was suppressed, leaving only the triumphal arch of the chapel (visible in the exterior), being on the opposite side adapted the sacristy. On the roof is visible one of the original elements of the Cistercian project, of important significance, composed by the Romanesque rosacea, illuminating element of the central nave. Some of the decorative elements of the canals and capitals are fully integrated in the Romanesque typical of the Minho basin, but the whole architectural plan of the work is exemplary of the typical model used by the order of Cister. In the South zone some arcades belonging to structures of the regular area of the monastery are perceptible.